Christmas in Cullman

Last weekend was Christmas in Cullman. It’s the weekend to kick off Christmas! There is a parade and Santa Claus……loads of fun. The whole town gets involved and there are so many cool things to do. We were open all weekend. I know, right! Open on Sunday! It was great. There were people all over the streets of Downtown Cullman. Walking in and out, doing lots of shopping! We weren’t quite prepared for getting into the “Holiday Spirit”. Kolby was going out of town and there was some recent “BIG” news about Cullman County going Wet. Yes, they have been a dry county up until the last Election! November 2nd was a day to mark into the history books! I don’t know if you know, but Garlan, Jr., is the President of the City Council. So, needless to say, he had a lot on his plate! I decided to step in and work on what Southern Accents would be doing for the weekend’s festivities!

I dug through all of my Christmas decor and pulled out all things rustic and burlap, loaded up my car, picked up my friend, Daphney, and we headed north. We had some windows to decorate!

When I think of Christmas windows, I automatically think of New York City. The windows in New York are story telling! They all have such beautiful windows. I could walk up and down 5th avenue all day looking at them! One of my favorites is Bergdorf Goodman. The windows seem so real and do tell a story! I just read online where Saks Fifth Avenue would have bubbles added to their building for this holiday season. Bubbles? I mean, the snowflakes that are covering the outside of the building are breathtaking!I found this photo on Flickr.  I can’t wait to see how the bubbles and snowflakes turn out. Too bad it will be from my computer and not live and in person!

My windows at Southern Accents might not be this spectacular! I have a feeling, though, they will be spectacular for Southern Accents! There are many eclectic, one of a kind pieces that you can find here. One is this piano keyboard. Isn’t it gorgeous? I just love how it’s just the keyboard and there are many, many keys missing! Many thanks to Stacie Carter for this photo. We also had this set of Sunbeam doors. They are aluminum and have just enough wear to make them perfect! I wish this picture was a little bigger……not the same effect. You can see how great they look in the window…………

There are two windows to work with. They were both a lot more work than we bargained for. It is freakishly hot in those front windows! We only had 4 hours and got started immediately! The tree they had was only 4.5 ft. Seriously? Ok, we went next door to the florist and bought one of their old trees for $25! Awesome! We did have to take the old lights off…they didn’t work. A HUGE thank you to Shane! He worked on those lights for a couple of hours! The mantel with green shutters was the perfect backdrop for this window. I love how the burlap stockings turned out! We could’ve really done a lot more with that tree, but we ran out of precious time! I think the piano finishes it off nicely!

The second window, needed a bit more work. There was already a mantel inside. We just added garland and burlap ribbon to it and adorned the top with a few stars and red tiles from around the store. We did put an old industrial cart in that window. It isn’t on wheels. It’s the perfect table! The 4.5 ft. Christmas tree was perfect for this side! We added bead board ornaments to it. They are stamped with cute Christmas words like, Ho Ho Ho, Joy and Peace! They are adorable! We found red pieces from around the store to add to the window like the No Smoking sign….a little festive and quirky!

I was so thankful they thought to take pictures at night. They aren’t the best quality, but give it a certain aesthetic that just works, don’t you think? I love how they turned out. I could tell you all the things I didn’t get done…..but, if you never know, then you don’t know what you are missing!

Let us know if you have any questions!

SOUTHERN ACCENTS ARCHITECTURAL ANTIQUES
308 Second Ave. SE
Cullman, Alabama 35055
Showroom Assistance: 877-737-0554
Hours: Mon – Fri, 9:00am to 5:00pm
Saturdays 10:00 am to 4:00 pm CST
E-Mail info@sa1969.com


Leave a Reply

