Wal-Mart Pico

Yesterday I ran in to Wal-Mart (yes, I am a Wal-Mart shopper) to grab a few grocery items needed for today’s tailgate party.  For some reason, unknown to me, I am one of those people that strangers feel comfortable engaging in conversation in Wally World. Most often I am asked if I know where something is. I always do. Quite often I am asked food questions. I love to cook and love to talk food and am always flattered that someone would ask for my food advice, even a stranger. I share what I can before moving on to the next isle and the next customer question. I often find myself looking to see if someone has stuck an employee tag on my back as a joke or wonder if I resemble Martha White? Anyway, sometimes this works in my favor, as it did yesterday.

I was in the produce section digging through the cilantro. This man walks up and asks, “What are you doing with that?” My reply,  “I’m making Texas Caviar. Tomorrow is fajita night”.  He told me that he was from Texas, had moved to Cullman a couple of years ago, loves spicy Mexican food and then began to share his easy pico recipe with me!  SCORE!! I normally do not like ‘prefab’ recipes. I’m a ‘from scratch’ girl but… it’s been a busy week. I’ve got 20 people showing up at my dirty house tonight to tailgate for a BIG SEC FOOTBALL GAME. I will spend all day trying to get my house in some sort of acceptable order before firing up the smoker. Easy pico…I’m in!

I can be a bit selfish when it comes to recipes. I don’t always like to share but since this one was a freebie…

Southern Accents Architectural Antiques

WAL-MART PICO

  • 1 can Mexican “Rotel” (the kind with cilantro and lime)
  • jalapeno pepper
  • onion (I like a sweet onion)
  • lime
  • cilantro
  • salt

I literally threw this together in less than 10 minutes. Drain the can of Rotel. I sliced off about 1/4 of a jalapeno pepper and 1 slice of onion and finely chopped both. I added about a good teaspoon of each to the Rotel. I finely chopped and added a handful of cilantro, about a tablespoon once it was chopped. I added salt to taste and squeezed the juice of 1/2 of a small lime. Toss and your done!

Southern Accents Architectural Antiques

Although pico mixed with your early morning cup of coffee is not the best combination, the taste of the pico is spot on! You can tweak this recipe according to your taste. I made two batches just to make sure we had enough.

The guys at Southern Accents are working hard today. I’ll be sending them signals from my smoker later this afternoon. I’ve been told that I make the BEST chicken fajitas this side of the border… I’m sure they are hoping I’ll throw them some leftovers!!  😉 If you are in the area please stop by the store and say hello. Tell them I said ROLL TIDE!

Thank you former Texas resident Wal-Mart man for this recipe. It’s a keeper! I used the remaining cilantro in my Texas Caviar. If you’ve never had Texas Caviar, I make a pretty mean one. Perhaps that will be my next recipe share?


One response to “Wal-Mart Pico

  • Debbie

    I am definitely going to have to give this a try! Had to laugh when you said you were cooking fajitas – we did too (only beef not chicken) before the BIG Game – and what a game. So glad the Tide came through in the end!!!

Leave a Reply

